Interview mit Pentland Brands über die Optimierung der Kundenerfahrung auf Amazon

Authors

Jessica Shaw

Jessica Shaw

Pentland Brands

Ian Gilchrist

Ian Gilchrist

PureFluent Roving Reporter

Share this

Tweet Share Share

More content

  • Ist mehrsprachiger Video-Content gut für SEO?

    Read now
  • PureFluent introduces the first Translation Subscription Service - WordStore

    Read now
  • Wie kann ich als Kunde die Übersetzungsqualität beurteilen?

    Read now
  • Interview mit Pentland Brands über die Optimierung der Kundenerfahrung auf Amazon

    Read now
  • Bringen Übersetzungen Vorteile im E-Commerce, auch wenn die Kunden Englisch verstehen?

    Read now
  • Reicht Englisch für meine Kunden aus?

    Read now
  • Untertitel oder Voiceover? Was ist besser für Video-Content?

    Read now
  • Gig-Economy, Scheinselbstständigkeit, digitale Tagelöhner, Clickworker. Inwiefern treffen diese viel diskutierten Schlagwörter auf die Übersetzungsbranche zu?

    Read now
  • Wie wird sich der Brexit auf die Übersetzungsbranche auswirken?

    Read now
  • Abonnement statt Preis per Wort. Ist dieses Preismodell die Zukunft in der Übersetzungsbranche?

    Read now

Januar 10, 2020

Dieses Mal spricht Ian mit Jessica Shaw, Kundin von PureFluent und Shopper Marketing Executive bei Pentland Brands, einem globalen Markenmanagementunternehmen mit Aktivitäten in den Segmenten Sport, Outdoor und Mode. Jessica ist dafür verantwortlich, dass die Pentland Marken auf Amazon sichtbar sind und optimal wahrgenommen werden: gut positioniert und genau auf die Kunden ausgerichtet.

Ian:Vielen Lesern sind bestimmt eher Ihre Marken ein Begriff, weniger der Name Pentland. Können Sie uns etwas über das Unternehmen erzählen, über seine Geschichte und seine Marken?

Jessica:Pentland hieß ursprünglich Liverpool Shoe Company und wurde 1914 von Berko und Minnie Rubin gegründet, den Großeltern unseres heutigen Chefs Andy Rubin. Am Anfang war das ein kleines Schuhgroßhandelsgeschäft, das nach und nach auch in die Produktion von Schuhen einstieg. Ein Familienunternehmen seit vier Generationen. Zu unseren Marken gehören Speedo, Berghaus, Canterbury, Endura, ellesse, Boxfresh, KangaRoos und Red or Dead. Außerdem sind wir auch Lizenznehmer für Kickers in Großbritannien.

Ian:Das ist ein beeindruckendes Markenportfolio. Speedo sagt sicherlich den meisten Leuten sofort etwas. Wie lange gehört die Marke schon zu Ihrem Markenportfolio, und hat Pentland Speedo direkt erworben?

Jessica:Speedo ist seit 1991 Teil der Pentland-Familie. Der Hauptsitz befindet sich in Nottingham und Speedo wird in 180 Ländern weltweit verkauft. Die Marke selbst wurde 1928 in Australien gegründet.

Ian:Wo ist Speedo in Ihrem Markenspektrum angesiedelt? Ist es Ihre größte Marke?

Jessica: Speedo wird weltweit in mehr Ländern verkauft als unsere anderen Marken. Damit ist Speedo unsere größte Marke in Bezug auf Reichweite und Beliebtheit. Speedo ist ein Synonym für den Schwimmsport und überall auf der Welt bekannt.

Ian:Viele Ihrer Marken haben mit Sport oder Outdoor-Aktivitäten zu tun. Bringt Ihnen das Vorteile bei Produktentwicklung und Marketing?

Jessica:Mit mehreren Marken in den Kategorien Sport und Outdoor können wir die Stärken der einzelnen Marken optimal nutzen. Beispielsweise profitiert das Fastskin-Sortiment von Speedo von unserer bei Endura entwickelten Kompetenz in Sachen Gewebetechnologie. Das jeweils gewonnene Know-how können wir also auf andere Marken übertragen, sodass wir am Ende Weltklasse-Produkte bei allen Marken anbieten. Zusammenarbeit sichert ständige Verbesserung und Effizienz.

Ian:Wie sehen Ihre Aufgaben als Shopper Marketing Executive bei Pentland aus, und welche Erfahrungen bringen Sie mit?

Jessica:Ich habe zuerst zwei Jahre bei Shop Direct in Liverpool gearbeitet und bin nun seit zwei Jahren bei Pentland. Ich komme aus dem Einkauf und glaube, dass Vertriebs- und Markenentwicklung viel analysebasierter ist als der Einkauf. Beim Einkauf sind deutlich mehr Emotionen im Spiel. Analytik zwar auch, weil man wissen muss, was sich verkauft, aber ich glaube, beim Einkauf geht es deutlich mehr ums Bauchgefühl. Das Rückgrat des Geschäfts von Pentland sind Analytik und Daten, vor allem beim Verkauf über Amazon. Man kann nicht über Amazon verkaufen, wenn man nicht gewillt ist, ins Detail und in die Daten einzutauchen, denn Amazon ist nun einmal ein datengestütztes Unternehmen und spricht in Daten. Das ist die wichtigste Erkenntnis, die ich bei der Arbeit mit Amazon gewonnen habe.

Das jeweils gewonnene Know-how können wir also auf andere Marken übertragen, sodass wir am Ende Weltklasse-Produkte bei allen Marken anbieten. Zusammenarbeit sichert ständige Verbesserung und Effizienz.

Ich arbeite im Team für Strategische Kunden von Pentland Brands, konkret betreue ich im Teambereich Shopper Marketing den Vertrieb über Amazon in mehreren Märkten. Meine Aufgabe ist es, alle unsere Produkte aus unserem gesamten Markenspektrum auf Amazon so zu präsentieren, dass den Käufern ein optimales Einkaufserlebnis geboten wird. Dazu gehören Bilder zur Präsentation unserer Produkte und der begleitende schriftliche Content (und hier kommt natürlich PureFluent mit ins Spiel), bis hin zu Markenshops und Marketingkampagnen bei Amazon. Amazon macht einem die bestmögliche Darstellung seiner Marken manchmal nicht leicht. Wir haben aber eine tolle Beziehung mit Amazon und können auf ein ganzes Arsenal von Tools zurückgreifen, um unsere Produkte fantastisch in Szene zu setzen.

Wir müssen uns gemeinsam mit Amazon entwickeln – ich glaube nicht, dass wir erfolgreich mit Amazon arbeiten könnten, wenn wir keine Datenanalysten im Team hätten. Es ist echt interessant, mit Amazon zu arbeiten und seine Entwicklung mitzuverfolgen. Für mich ist das eine sehr spannende Partnerschaft, und ich bin schon sehr gespannt, was Amazon im nächsten Jahr einfällt!

Ian:Amazon ist natürlich Ihr Job, aber ist Amazon wirklich der wichtigste Online-Kanal für Pentland?

Jessica:Wir haben mehrere wichtige Vermarktungskanäle, aber für alle gilt: Egal, wo die Kunden kaufen, sie sollen ein tolles Einkaufserlebnis haben. Amazon ist in unserer Sparte Strategische Kunden angesiedelt, weil so viele Marken über die Plattform vermarktet werden. Ein strategischer Kunde ist Amazon also durchaus, aber sicher nicht der wichtigste, weil wir eine Fülle von Vertriebskanälen haben. Egal, ob im Internet oder in der Filiale: Wir wollen, dass Kunden beim Kauf von Pentland Produkten die bestmögliche Erfahrung machen.

Ian:Gibt es andere Online-Kanäle, die für die Marken von Pentland wichtig sind, vielleicht besonders für Ihre Sportmarken?

Jessica:Natürlich gibt es viele Branchengrößen, die zum Beispiel Online-Shoppingportale haben, oder Filialisten, die sehr erfolgreich im E-Commerce sind. Wir sind mit allen im Geschäft, aber die Zahl an strategischen Kunden ist überschaubar.

Google wird nicht als Shopping-Tool genutzt, sondern als Antwort-Tool. Die Antworten von Google werden als Input für Amazon verwendet.

Ian: Sprechen wir jetzt einmal über Märkte. Welche Märkte sind für Pentland außerhalb des englischsprachigen Raums am wichtigsten? Wie entscheiden Sie, auf welche Märkte Sie sich konzentrieren sollten?

Jessica:Außerhalb Großbritanniens und der USA konzentrieren wir uns derzeit ziemlich auf Europa, vor allem auf Deutschland, das 2020 unser Schwerpunkt sein wird.

Wir haben zwei Datenanalysten im Team, die alle Daten und Zusammenhänge analysieren, auf die sie für uns zugreifen können und die diese Strategie für uns entwickeln. Bezüglich Amazon sagen uns diese Daten, dass Deutschland das größte Potenzial hat, weshalb wir im kommenden Jahr unseren Schwerpunkt entsprechend setzen werden.

Ian:Wie haben sich Kundenerlebnis und Kundenerwartungen bei Amazon verändert, seit Sie mit der Plattform arbeiten?

Jessica:Interessanterweise verwenden mittlerweile mehr und mehr Leute Amazon als Ausgangspunkt beim Einkaufen und nicht mehr Google. Das ist eine Veränderung von fundamentaler Bedeutung. Die Leute stellen Google Fragen wie „Warum kann ich nicht schlafen?“, aber bei Amazon geben sie ‚Schlaftabletten‘ ein, sagen Amazon also die Antwort. Google wird nicht als Shopping-Tool genutzt, sondern als Antwort-Tool. Die Antworten von Google werden als Input für Amazon verwendet.

Amazon hat sich in den letzten Jahren enorm weiterentwickelt, da die Kunden die Lieferung am nächsten Tag, herausragenden Kundenservice und einen möglichst einfachen Kaufablauf erwarten, was durch das 1-Click-System von Amazon als Alleinstellungsmerkmal verwirklicht wurde. Mittlerweile kann man sogar per Sprachbefehl einkaufen! Wir müssen Schritt halten und uns klar machen, dass die Leute mittlerweile Alexa bitten, ihnen einen Fußball zu kaufen. Deshalb wollen wir ‚Amazon‘s Choice‘ sein, wenn jemand einen Fußball kauft, weil niemand zuhören möchte, wie Alexa drei Seiten Produkte herunterrasselt.

Alexa wurde letztes Jahr -zig Millionen Mal gebeten, „die Weihnachtsbeleuchtung einzuschalten“. Das heißt: Es kommen enorme Zahlen von Fragen zusammen, vor allem in Stoßzeiten für den Handel. Wie die Leute auf Amazon kaufen, hat sich enorm verändert, sogar in der relativ kurzen Zeit, die ich in diesem Team arbeite. Aufgrund der Daten gehen wir davon aus, dass in zwei-drei Jahren 50 % der Suchanfragen per Sprachbefehl gestellt werden.

Man kann nicht über Amazon verkaufen, wenn man nicht gewillt ist, ins Detail und in die Daten einzutauchen, denn Amazon ist nun einmal ein datengestütztes Unternehmen und spricht in Daten. Das ist die wichtigste Erkenntnis, die ich bei der Arbeit mit Amazon gewonnen habe.

Mittlerweile werden neue Wohnungen gleich beim Bau mit Alexa ausgerüstet, was wie aus einem Science Fiction-Film klingt. Alexa ist also dabei, die Shopping-Landschaft unglaublich zu verändern. Unsere Aufgabe besteht mittlerweile darin zu erreichen, dass man zum Einkaufen einfach nur noch „Alexa, finde dieses Produkt auf der Plattform“ sagen muss. Hätte man mir das selbst noch vor drei Jahren prophezeit, hätte ich gesagt, dass das nie passieren wird – nie im Leben werden die Leute Alexa zum Einkaufen verwenden!

Ian:Ich bin kein Alexa-Nutzer, aber speziell wenn es um den Kauf von Kleidung geht, bin ich etwas zurückhaltender, was Online-Käufe betrifft, weil mir gut passende Kleidung sehr wichtig ist und ich daher großen Wert auf das Anprobieren lege.

Jessica:Um das Anprobier-Problem zu überwinden, hat Amazon jetzt eine Alexa-Version mit Kamera herausgebracht. Damit kann man Kleidungsstücke auswählen, die man dann über den Körper ziehen kann wie bei einer Anziehpuppe, sodass man die Stücke sozusagen anprobieren kann. Ich glaube, das heißt Alexa Show. Als wir letzten Januar davon erfuhren, dachte ich mir, die denken einfach an alles. Amazon ist wirklich immer einen Schritt weiter bei allem, was potenziell eine Hürde darstellen könnte. Für Kunden, die immer noch Computer oder Mobilgeräte nutzen, haben wir Größentabellen, und Amazon bietet eine einfache und problemlose Rücksendung an.

Wir stecken viel mehr Zeit in die Suchoptimierung für unseren übersetzten Content, damit er für die Käufer weltweit relevant ist. Dass ein Text in Großbritannien funktioniert, bedeutet noch lange nicht, dass es eine direkte Übersetzung in Frankreich oder Deutschland ebenfalls tut.

Ian:Wie wirken sich diese veränderten Erwartungen auf Ihre Übersetzungsstrategie aus?

Jess:Die Bedürfnisse der Käufer ändern sich und die Art einzukaufen ebenso. Deshalb analysieren wir, wie unsere Käufer nach Produkten suchen und welche Unterschiede es dabei zwischen den Märkten gibt. Wir stecken viel mehr Zeit in die Suchoptimierung für unseren übersetzten Content, damit er für die Käufer weltweit relevant ist. Dass ein Text in Großbritannien funktioniert, bedeutet noch lange nicht, dass es eine direkte Übersetzung in Frankreich oder Deutschland ebenfalls tut.

Wir hatten eine Berghaus-Werbung mit den Texten „Das Anstrengendste, was du heute getan hast: ‚Nächste Folge‘ auf Netflix klicken“ und „Bist du traurig, dass es auf dem Wochenmarkt keine Avocados gibt?“ Damit wollten wir sagen, dass man alle seine Millennial-Probleme hinter sich lassen und raus in die Natur gehen sollte. Dazu gab es ein Foto mit verlockenden Bergen im Sonnenlicht, in denen man eigentlich unterwegs sein sollte. Nach Deutschland übertragen, verstand das niemand. Stattdessen fragten sich die Leute, warum man traurig sein sollte, weil es auf dem Wochenmarkt keine Avocados gibt, statt einfach was anderes zu kaufen. Avocado und pochiertes Ei zum Brunch am Wochenende ist so typisch britisch, dass die Pointe in Deutschland – verständlicherweise – nicht rüberkam. Die Feinheiten und der Humor lassen sich nicht immer auf andere Märkte übertragen. Simples Kopieren funktioniert also nicht.

Berghaus time to get out

Berghaus-Kampagne „Time to Get Out“

Ian:Wenn wir Amazon einmal etwas technischer betrachten: Wie wichtig ist A+/B+/EBC-Content für das Kundenerlebnis, und wie gestalten Sie diesen Content so, dass er funktioniert?

Jessica:Mit diesem Content kann der Käufer mehr über ein Produkt erfahren, bevor er sich für den Kauf entscheidet. Er sorgt auch für Authentizität und einen intensiveren Eindruck, sodass der Käufer auf Amazon die Marke wahrnimmt. Wenn ich selbst auf Amazon kaufe, finde ich, dass A+ Content Authentizität und Wissen vermittelt und mir hilft, zu meiner Kaufentscheidung zu kommen. Amazon kann einen mit seiner Angebotsfülle leicht erschlagen, da kann der A+ Content hilfreich sein. Amazon findet es gut, wenn wir A+ Content haben, mit dessen Erstellung ich einen erheblichen Teil meiner Arbeitszeit verbringe. Dieser Content gibt uns ein bisschen mehr Spielraum und wir arbeiten bei seiner Erstellung sehr eng mit den Marken zusammen.

Nicht alle Käufer schauen sich die Aufzählung der Produktmerkmale an, sodass ihnen möglicherweise einige Produktmerkmale und -vorteile entgehen. A+ Content ist daher eine gute Möglichkeit, ihnen diese in einem kreativeren Format zu präsentieren. 95 % der Käufer auf Amazon sehen sich alle Bilder an. Bei der B+ Funktion setzen wir daher zusätzliche Bilder ein, bei denen Produktmerkmale und -vorteile über das Bild gelegt sind. Das wirkt sich positiv auf die Konversionsrate aus.

Amazon A+ Content

Beispiel für Amazon A+ Content

Wir haben unsere Content-Strategie im letzten Jahr überarbeitet, sind unseren gesamten A+/B+ Content durchgegangen, haben neue Markenshops eingerichtet, alles neu übersetzt etc. Das macht es schwierig, den einen konkreten Content ausfindig zu machen, der am besten funktioniert hat, weil das alles in einem ähnlichen zeitlichen Rahmen stattgefunden hat. Wir arbeiten sehr eng mit den Markenteams zusammen und verwenden ihre Ideen für das Markenmarketing. Diese Ideen entstehen durch aufwändige Recherche, Beschäftigung mit den Märkten und Gespräche mit unseren Käufern. Die Markenteams leisten die gesamte Zuarbeit und produzieren tolle Bilder für uns. Meine Kollegin Louise und ich müssen dann festlegen, wie wir sie am besten für Amazon verwenden. Wir haben eine interne Werbeagentur, die die Brücke schlägt zwischen dem, was wir für Amazon wollen und dem, was die Marke entwickelt hat. Die Agentur bringt beides unter einen Hut, und diese Zusammenarbeit hat sich sehr bewährt.

Ian:Sie haben es in einigen Ihrer Antworten schon kurz angesprochen, aber welche Methoden setzen Sie ein, damit die Käufer Ihre Produkte auf Amazon finden?

Jessica:Regel Nr. 1 bei Amazon besteht darin, bei der Suche gut gefunden zu werden und die Produkte auffindbar zu machen. Dafür haben wir diverse Tools. Zwei unserer wichtigsten Methoden haben mit der Suche zu tun. Wir nutzen Werbung auf Amazon, um unsere Produkte durch bestimmte Schlüsselwörter weit nach vorn zu bringen, was nach dem CPC-Prinzip (‚cost per click‘) funktioniert. Die zweite Methode, die wir nutzen, damit die Käufer unsere Produkte finden, ist die Verwendung der richtigen Keywords. PureFluent hat uns zum Beispiel geholfen, alle unsere Keywords für Speedo zu übersetzen. Wenn man ein Produkt bei Amazon anlegt, muss man Schlüsselwörter hinterlegen, die als organische Keywords bezeichnet werden. Dafür verwenden wir kein CPC-Modell.

Ian: Nutzen Sie für englischsprachige und nicht englischsprachige Märkte dieselben Methoden?

Jessica: Bei der Suche durchaus, aber der große Unterschied besteht natürlich darin, dass wir die in Großbritannien verwendeten Keywords nicht einfach übersetzen und in Frankreich, Deutschland oder anderen Märkten anwenden. Dank unserer Zusammenarbeit mit PureFluent können wir messen, wie viele Personen nach diesen Begriffen suchen und sie nach Relevanz sortieren, um sie im Anschluss zu übersetzen und für einen bestimmten Markt relevant zu machen. Auf diese Weise erhalten wir ein viel passenderes Ergebnis, als einfach für jeden Markt exakt dieselben Keywords für Speedo zu verwenden. Das ist extrem wichtig für die Betreuung unserer Produkte auf Märkten, auf denen unsere Marken vielleicht nicht ganz so bekannt sind, und ein großer Vorteil unserer Zusammenarbeit mit PureFluent.

About the authors

Jessica Shaw Jessica Shaw

Shopper Marketing Executive at Pentland Brands - behind some of the biggest names in sport and lifestyle. Currently working in part of the wider strategic customers team with focus on a key account to ensure we are converting shoppers at the point of purchase.


See all posts by Jessica Shaw
Ian Gilchrist Ian Gilchrist

Ian has worked in music and home entertainment product development, marketing, and journalism in the U.S., Canada and the UK, where he currently lives, for over 30 years.

In that time he's has aided and abetted an eclectic array of artists including Alison Krauss, Talking Heads, Madeleine Peyroux and Slade, and has worked for a diverse range of labels and companies including Universal Music (Canada), Pioneer LDC (Europe), Milan Records (France), the British Film Institute (BFI), Rounder Records Group (Canada) and BMG (UK). In his guise as a film journalist Ian's interviewed many renowned and influential people, including director John Carpenter (Halloween), actors Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network) and Tom Hardy (Venom), director Roman Polanski (Chinatown), and many more.


See all posts by Ian Gilchrist

Share this

Tweet Share Share

Pentland Brands talk about their drive to provide shoppers with a great experience on Amazon

Authors

Jessica Shaw

Jessica Shaw

Pentland Brands

Ian Gilchrist

Ian Gilchrist

PureFluent Roving Reporter

Share this

Tweet Share Share

More content

  • Is Amazon Translate good enough for my Amazon Listings?

    Read now
  • 5 Tips to Improve Translation ROI

    Read now
  • Top Tips: How to translate your Customer Portal

    Read now
  • How to translate page titles and meta descriptions

    Read now
  • Top tips for getting better machine translation results

    Read now
  • Top Tips: Making the most of a reduced translation budget

    Read now
  • Does multilingual video help SEO performance?

    Read now
  • PureFluent introduces the first Translation Subscription Service - WordStore

    Read now
  • Pentland Brands talk about their drive to provide shoppers with a great experience on Amazon

    Read now
  • How should customers assess translation quality?

    Read now

January 10, 2020

This time Ian speaks with PureFluent client Jessica Shaw, Shopper Marketing Executive for Pentland Brands Limited, a global brand management company involved in the sports, outdoor and fashion markets. Jessica’s role involves working with Amazon to ensure that their brands are visible and provide shoppers with the best possible experience of the brands they sell on Amazon, highlighted and targeted precisely.

Ian:Many readers will be familiar with your brands but won’t be familiar with the Pentland name, so can you tell me a bit about the company, its origins and the brands it represents?

Jessica:Pentland was originally the Liverpool Shoe Company, which was founded in 1914 by Berko and Minnie Rubin, the grandparents of our current Chair, Andy Rubin. It began as a small wholesale shoe business and gradually expanded into manufacturing footwear. It’s a family business spanning four generations. We own a number of brands including Speedo, Berghaus, Canterbury, Endura, ellesse, Boxfresh, KangaRoos and Red or Dead, and we’re also the UK licensee for Kickers.

Ian:That’s an impressive portfolio of brands that you just described and I imagine that the one most people will immediately recognise is Speedo. How long has Speedo been in the portfolio and did Pentland purchase it outright?

Jessica:Speedo became part of the Pentland family in 1991. The head office is based in Nottingham and Speedo is sold in 180 countries worldwide. The brand itself was established in Australia in 1928.

Ian:Where does Speedo sit in your roster of brands, is it your biggest?

Jessica:Speedo is sold in more countries globally than any of our other brands. As a result, it is our biggest brand in terms of reach and popularity. Speedo is synonymous with swimming and is a globally recognisable brand.

Ian:A lot of your brands are associated with sport or the outdoors, does that give you advantages in product development and marketing?

Jessica:Having a number of brands across the sports and outdoors categories allows us to use each brand’s strengths. For example, our expertise in fabric technology in Endura aligns itself with ground-breaking technology in Speedo’s Fastskin range. We can utilise each of the brands specialities to make our products world class across the board. Working together ensures continual improvements and efficiency.

Ian:Tell me a bit about yourself and your role as Shopper Marketing Executive with Pentland, and your commercial background?

Jessica:I started my career at Shop Direct in Liverpool for two years, and I’ve been with Pentland for two years as well. I was in buying previously and I think that both sales and brand building relies a lot more on insights than buying did or does. Buying is a lot more emotional and while there is analytics behind buying insofar as knowing what sells I think buying comes a lot more from the heart. The backbone of Pentland’s business is analytics and data, especially working with Amazon. You can’t work with Amazon if you’re not willing to drill down into details and the data as they’re a data-led business and they speak in data, which is the biggest takeaway I’ve had from working with them.

We can utilise each of the brands specialities to make our products world class across the brand. Working together ensures continual improvements and efficiency.

I work within Pentland Brands’ Customer team, and I work specifically with Amazon across a number of markets in the Shopper Marketing arm of the team. I work to ensure that all our products across all our brands are represented in the right way on Amazon so that shoppers have the best possible shopping experience. This includes images that display our products and the written content that supports it, which is obviously where PureFluent comes in, through to Amazon brand stores and marketing campaigns. Amazon can be quite a restricted theatre sometimes in trying to make your brands look as good as possible but we’ve got a really great relationship with them and we have quite a lot of tools at our disposal to make our products look amazing.

We have to develop with Amazon; I don‘t think we could work with them and do our jobs if we didn’t have data analysts on our team. It’s really interesting working with Amazon and seeing how they develop and it’s a really exciting partnership to have – I can’t wait to see what they come out with next year!

Ian:You may be biased as this is your role but Is Amazon your most important online channel?

Jessica:We have a number of important routes to market, and ultimately our aim is that regardless of where shoppers shop they have a brilliant experience. Amazon sits within our Strategic Customers division because there are so many brands on the platform, so while it’s a strategic customer for us I wouldn’t say that it’s the most important because we have a plethora of routes to market. Whether it’s online or bricks & mortar, we want customers who buy Pentland products to have the best possible experience.

Ian:Are there other online channels that are important for Pentland’s brands, perhaps specifically to do with your sporting brands?

Jessica:Obviously there are a lot of giants that have online department stores for example, and bricks & mortar retailers that have very successful online businesses and we do business with all of those, but there aren’t a huge number of customers working with the Strategic Customers team.

Google isn’t being used as a shopping tool, it’s being used as an answering tool and the answers it’s giving are being put into Amazon.

Ian:Moving from specific retailers on to markets, what are Pentland’s main non-English markets? How do you decide which markets to focus on?

Jessica:Outside the UK and US we have a bit of a focus on Europe at the moment, especially Germany which is the big one for us in 2020.

We have two data analysts that are part of our team who analyse all of the data and insights that they can access on our behalf, and they develop that strategy for us. From an Amazon perspective that data outlined Germany as the biggest potential and that that’s what will be focussing on next year.

Ian:How have you seen customer experience and expectations evolving with Amazon in the time that you’ve been working with them?

Jessica:Interestingly, more people start their shopping journeys on Amazon now than on Google, which is a huge, huge shift. People ask Google questions such as “why can’t I sleep?”, but on Amazon you’ll type in ‘sleeping tablets’, so people are telling Amazon the answer. Google isn’t being used as a shopping tool, it’s being used as an answering tool and the answers it’s giving are being put into Amazon.

Amazon’s developed a lot just in the past few years, with people expecting next day delivery, extra customer service and the easiest shopping experience possible, highlighted by ‘one click buying’, their USP and now you can even shop through voice command! We have to keep up with the fact that people are asking Alexa to buy them a football and therefore we aim to to be ‘Amazon’s Choice’ for people buying a football, because people aren’t going to listen to Alexa reel off three pages of products.

Alexa was asked last year to “put the Christmas lights on” 10s of millions of times, so questions are asked in enormous numbers especially around key shopping periods. The way that people are buying on Amazon has changed so much, even since I started with the team. Insight tells us that in the next couple of years, voice will become 50% of their search.

You can’t work with Amazon if you’re not willing to drill down into details and the data as they’re a data-led business and they speak in data, which is the biggest takeaway I’ve had from working with them.

There are new build homes now that have Alexa installed, which feels like something out of a science fiction movie – Alexa is changing the shopping landscape incredibly. Our job now is to make the ease of shopping so great that it comes down to “Alexa find that product on the platform” – if you’d told me that’s what was going to happen even three years ago I would have responded that that’s not going to happen, people are never going to shop via Alexa.

Ian:I’m not an Alexa user but in terms of buying clothes specifically I’m more reticent about buying online because I’m very conscious of clothes fitting well so I’m pretty insistent about trying things on.

Jessica:In terms of overcoming that resistance around trying things on, Amazon have now released an Alexa which has a camera in it, this allows you to select clothes which are placed over your body like a paper doll, essentially allowing you to try the clothes on. I believe this is called Alexa Show and when we were told about it last January I thought “they do think of everything” – they’re really one step ahead of anything you might think of as an issue. For people that are still using computers or mobiles we provide size guides and Amazon offer a simple and easy returns option.

We’re spending a lot more time on search optimisation for our translated content so it’s relevant for global shoppers. Just because some copy works in the UK, direct translations might not work in France or Germany.

Ian:How are these changing expectations affecting your approach to translation?

Jess:Shopper needs change and so does the way that people shop, so we look at the way our shoppers search for products and the way that varies between markets. We’re spending a lot more time on search optimisation for our translated content so it’s relevant for global shoppers. Just because some copy works in the UK, direct translations might not work in France or Germany.

We had a Berghaus advert which basically said “The most exercise you’ve done today – pressing ‘next episode’ on Netflix”, and “Are you upset that there are no avocados at the farmer’s market?”, the idea being that it’s time for you to get over all your millennial problems and get outside, and we used a picture of the glorious, sunny hills you should be on. When this was pitched to Germany they didn’t understand it, asking why anyone would be upset if there are no avocados at the farmer’s market, why wouldn’t they just get something else? The idea of avocado and poached egg for brunch at the weekend is a very UK thing, so Germans understandably didn’t get it. The intricacies and the humour don’t always translate to other markets. It cannot be ‘cut and paste’.

Berghaus time to get out

Berghaus “Time to Get Out” Campaign

Ian:On something of the more technical side of Amazon, is their A+/B+/EBC content important for the customer experience, and how do you ensure this content is effective?

Jessica:This content allows the shopper to learn more about a product before deciding to purchase and it also creates authenticity and sharpens the experience, getting the brand across to the shopper on Amazon. Personally, when I’m purchasing on Amazon, seeing the A+ content, it provides authenticity, it’s educational and provides me confidence to buy. Amazon can sometimes be a daunting place to shop and this makes it easier. Amazon like us to have it and creating it is a good part of my job, it gives us a bit more freedom and we work really closely with the brands in creating it.

Not all shoppers look at the bullet points so they may be missing some of the features and benefits and this is a good way to highlight those in a more creative format. 95% of all Amazon shoppers look at every image, this means the B+ feature is additional images with the features and benefits laid over the image. This supports conversion to purchase.

Amazon A+ Content

Example of Amazon A+ Content

We had an overhaul of our content strategy in the last year, reviewing all our A+/B+ content, creating new brand stores, re-translating everything etc, so it’s difficult to drill down and determine the single most effective content because it was all done in a similar timeframe. We work very closely with the brand teams and we utilise the brand marketing ideas that they’ve spent ages researching, having gone into the markets and spoken to our shoppers. They do all the legwork and produce beautiful images for us, and then it’s up to me and my colleague Louise to determine how we use these best for Amazon. We have an internal creative agency who bridge the gap between what we want for Amazon and what the brand have created, with the agency in the middle pulling it together, which is a really good working relationship.

Ian:You’ve touched on this in a few of your answers, but what approaches do you take to ensure that shoppers find your products on Amazon?

Jessica:Rule #1 with Amazon is winning search and making products discoverable and we have a number of tools that we utilise to do this. Two of our key tactics lie around search, and we use Amazon advertising which allows you to use certain keywords to bring forward your products, which works on cost per click. The other way we ensure that shoppers find our products is to use the right keywords, and PureFluent have helped us with this by translating all our Speedo keywords. When you set up a product on Amazon you have to put keywords behind it which are called organic keywords; we’re not using cost per click with this.

Ian:Do you follow the same approaches for English and non-English territories?

Jessica:We do when it comes to search but obviously the big difference will be that we’re using the same keywords that we use in the UK and translating and applying them in France, Germany or other markets. We work with PureFluent and are able to gauge how many people are searching for those search terms and then rank them by relevance, and we then translate and make them relevant in a particular market. It’s much more tailored doing it this way, rather than just using the exact same keywords for Speedo for every market. This is hugely important for properly servicing our products in markets where we may not have as much brand recognition and it’s a major benefit of working with PureFluent.

About the authors

Jessica Shaw Jessica Shaw

Shopper Marketing Executive at Pentland Brands - behind some of the biggest names in sport and lifestyle. Currently working in part of the wider strategic customers team with focus on a key account to ensure we are converting shoppers at the point of purchase.


See all posts by Jessica Shaw
Ian Gilchrist Ian Gilchrist

Ian has worked in music and home entertainment product development, marketing, and journalism in the U.S., Canada and the UK, where he currently lives, for over 30 years.

In that time he's has aided and abetted an eclectic array of artists including Alison Krauss, Talking Heads, Madeleine Peyroux and Slade, and has worked for a diverse range of labels and companies including Universal Music (Canada), Pioneer LDC (Europe), Milan Records (France), the British Film Institute (BFI), Rounder Records Group (Canada) and BMG (UK). In his guise as a film journalist Ian's interviewed many renowned and influential people, including director John Carpenter (Halloween), actors Jesse Eisenberg (The Social Network) and Tom Hardy (Venom), director Roman Polanski (Chinatown), and many more.


See all posts by Ian Gilchrist

Share this

Tweet Share Share